latest news image

Arthur Ashkin (USA), Gerard Mourou (France) and Donna Strickland (Canada) were selected for the Nobel Prize in Physics for 2018. They were selected for grounbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics. Arthur Ashkin received the prize for optical tweezers and their application to biological systems. Arthur Ashkin at 96 is the oldest winner of any Nobel prize. Gerard Mourou and Donna Strickland were awarded for their method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses. Their innovative technique is known as 'chirped pulse amplification'. Donna Strickland became the third woman to receive Nobel prize in Physics.

View All

Login to continue